Athlete of the MonthMay

Noah Eshleman

Career: Physical Therapist

Years at FireTower Athletics: 3

The support of the coaches and other members never fades.

I was born in Dallas and raised in Irving, Texas. After high school I attend the University of Mary in Bismarck, North Dakota from 2008-2016. There I majored in Athletic Training/Exercise Science, and played football for three years. After undergrad I spent three more years in Bismarck attending Physical Therapy school. During this time, I worked as the athletic trainer for U Mary’s baseball team and a strength coach at a local gym. My first job, out of Physical Therapy school, was a 13-week traveling position in Miles City. After several trips to various parts of this state I began to understand why people find Montana an impressive place. My next stop was Helena where I have worked as physical therapist at Peak Physical Therapy for roughly four years.

Working with people to improve quality of life is what drew me to physical therapy. I am able to spend a lot of time with patients each session. Listening to their stories and getting to know them as people makes for a very fulfilling day.

Athletics and being active in my free time have always been a large part of my life. I enjoy camping, hiking, fishing, snowboarding, reading, coin collecting, suffering as a Cowboys fan, and swearing (usually under my breath) during workouts. CrossFit allows me stay healthy and enjoy my hobbies.

My CrossFit journey began in the spring of 2017. Earlier that year, on a snowboarding trip, I could barely reach down to strap on my bindings. I had gained roughly 30 pounds during the fall and winter. A combination of eating poorly, little to no exercise, and Cold Smokes were to blame. Shortness of breath after essentially double knotting my shoes was a necessary wake up call.

Honestly, I was huge “CrossFit hater” for years. Upon joining the plan was to lose weight and “be ok with getting weak”. I also thought group workouts were silly and had no intention of getting to know anyone. This could not be further from the truth.

It took me a little over a year to consistently attend workouts, and probably another year after that to start taking nutrition seriously. Since then I have managed to lose all the new grad weight plus some. My strength has increased, and as it turns out the people of FireTower aren’t the worst. I really enjoy talking with people at the gym which is a very new experience.

Daily schedule varies:

Wake up between 5:30am and 7am depending on work that day. Breakfast is always first on the agenda. It was not listed before but eating remains one of my favorite hobbies.

Monday/Wednesday – Work 7:15am -3:15pm, Crossfit 3:30pm

Tuesday – Work 9:30am-5:30pm-ish depending paper work, Crossfit at 5:30pm if I did not do the workout on Sunday.

Thursday – Work 10:45am-6:45pm (Rest day), Spend the mornings catching up things from the week or planning the weekend.

Friday – Work 9:15-5:15, Crossfit at 5:30pm

After the workout I return to my favorite hobby of eating. At night I usually work on random projects around the house, read, or binge watch a show. Most days end with Face Timing my girlfriend who lives out of state while she finishes up Physical Therapy school.

My experience at FireTower has been overwhelmingly positive. The support of the coaches and other members never fades. I am very happy to be part of this community that loves to suffer for an hour of their day so the other twenty-three are enjoyable.

Previous AOTM:

«

Next AOTM:

»