Athlete of the MonthMarch

Paul Reynolds

Career: State Employee

Years at FireTower Athletics: 3

I was under the impression that you had to be in great shape before trying CrossFit.

I grew up in Billings, MT playing any sport I could find time for. In high school I focused on football (offensive and defensive line) and track (surprisingly I was a 400m runner) played a short stint in College.  I attended Carroll College graduating in 2001 and ended up staying in Helena and working for the State. My wife Amanda and I have two kids, Rylee and Kolter who also enjoy working out together. There is never a quiet moment when they are around. Over the years I have enjoyed coaching both my kids in sports and supporting their other activities any chance I get.

I started at FireTower at the end of 2017. I was looking for a change in my workout regiment and a way to try and loose weight. At first I was very intimidated at the thought of going into a CrossFit gym- which is silly given that I had spent my life lifting weights and working out. I was under the impression that you had to be in great shape before trying CrossFit. I did the bootcamp class and found that it was great- no one judged you for your incoming shape and it was very helpful for new movements. I had done all the traditional lifts but I hadn’t done the Olympic lifts that are prevalent in the workouts. It was a great experience and I was hooked.

The things I enjoy most about CrossFit is the feeling of community and that the workouts are planned for me. I get to spend an hour working out with a group of friends, people are genuinely interested in how you are doing, and it makes you want to show up and work hard.  I like having the programming done for me-I use to show up and wander around the gym for the first 20 minutes of my hour workout trying to decide what I was going to do. Even when I had a plan, I would get side tracked when the equipment that I was going to use was taken. I like that my family can work out with me, especially Amanda. We get a great workout in and some us time at the end of the day.

I start work around 7:30 AM

Breakfast- generally 2 hardboiled eggs a fruit and a Kodiak cake waffle, coffee with protein mixed in

Quick walk at 10:30 if work permits

Snack at 11:30, it varies usually some tuna fish and a vegetable

Lunch at 1:00, leftovers from the night before

Snack at 4:30, meat stick or an rx bar with some fruit

Crossfit at 5:30

Diner at 7- Miscellaneous zone meal

Protein shake at 9:30

Bedtime 11

Previous AOTM:

«

Next AOTM:

»